Raleigh Webinar - ENVIRONMENTAL PLANNING UNDER MAP-21 TRANSPORTATION PROJECTS

  • 12 Mar 2013
  • 2:00 PM - 3:30 PM
  • Offices of HDR Engineering, 3733 National Drive Suite 207, Raleigh

Registration


Registration is closed

NAEP March 12, 2013 WEBINAR ANNOUNCEMENT 

ENVIRONMENTAL PLANNING UNDER MAP-21 TRANSPORTATION PROJECTS


The National Association of Environmental Professionals (NAEP) webinar, “Environmental Planning under MAP-21 Transportation Projects” is scheduled for Tuesday, March 12, at 2:00 p.m. ET.

The Moving Ahead for Progress in the 21st Century Act (MAP-21) contains many significant provisions for accelerating project delivery by targeting the environmental review process required under the National Environmental Policy Act (NEPA).

These environmental streamlining provisions call for earlier coordination, greater linkage between the planning and environmental review processes, use of programmatic approaches where possible and consolidating environmental documents.  MAP-21 also establishes a framework for setting deadlines for decision making in the environmental review process, with a process for issue resolution and referral, and penalties for agencies that fail to make a decision.  The act also expands authority for use of categorical exclusions (CEs) to a variety of other types of projects, including multi-modal projects, projects to repair roads damaged in a declared disaster, projects within existing operational right-of-way, and projects receiving limited Federal assistance. 

The Education, Research & Science Committee, with support from the NAEP NEPA and Transportation Practices groups, has developed an informative webinar to help transportation and environmental planning professionals understand the key environmental provisions ofMAP-21, howMAP-21 will impact transportation project delivery, and bring us up to date on applicable Federal Highway Administration guidance on accelerated decision making in environmental reviews.

This webinar will focus on practical guidance for environmental practitioners on the implications of MAP-21’s environmental streamlining provisions on current and new transportation projects.

Date and Time: Tuesday, March 12, 2013 at 2pm ET (1pm CT, 12pm MT, 11am PT)
Duration: Event will last 90 minutes

 

 

NCAEP will offer this webinar free to members at one central location in Raleigh, and possibly a Charlotte or other location if enough interest is shown. 

 

 

If you wish to register for this event on your own and participate from your own location, NAEP's registration fee is $107 for affiliated chapter members (applies to all NCAEP members), $39 if you are a full-time student, and $119 for non-members.  Go to WWW.NAEP.ORG to register on your own.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software